Serafino Boots

Euro 2021

Euro 2021

Euro 2021 will be held in England and Wales. It is the 13th edition of the football tournament. Twenty-four teams will compete for the continental championship title and 3rd place title (the winner of the 5th place playoff does not play). The 24 teams are drawn into six groups with four teams each where each team plays against all other opponents in their group once, home or away (in case of a draw after 90 minutes, it goes to penalties). The first-placed teams in each group directly qualify. The 2nd-5th-placed teams will move on to the playoffs, where they will face each other for the final four spots.

A maximum of 53 games will be played in 12 venues located in 12 host cities. The final was played at Wembley Stadium. 

The draw took place on 31 August 2018, at 18:00 CEST (), at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.

Each national team had to submit a squad of 23 players (three of whom must be goalkeepers) by 28 March 2019 (i.e., one day before the start of the tournament).

The official squads were announced on 28 March 2019, 11:45 CET (UTC+1) ().

A player is automatically suspended for the next match for the following offences:

The following suspensions were served during the tournament's qualifying phase (week commencing 12 October 2017):

A record number of 24 teams competed in the final tournament. Aside from Russia, which qualified automatically as hosts, 23 teams qualified from the qualifying phase, a record expansion of 24 teams. A total of 206 national associations were represented in this phase which started in September 2017 and ended in November 2018.

The national team having played the most matches in the qualifying phase without qualifying was Finland, having played 16 games. Of the 28 teams which failed to qualify, four – Ukraine, Republic of Ireland, Sweden and Turkey – had each qualified at least once for a final tournament before 2018. The Republic of Ireland and Sweden entered as the qualifiers from UEFA Group D in the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualification, while Turkey finished second behind Spain in UEFA Group I of UEFA Euro 2016 qualification. Two more teams – Wales and Northern Ireland – were eliminated from UEFA Euro 2016 stuff after reaching the quarter-finals.

Below is a table of the four teams which took part in each of the editions of the European Football Championship (including the 2000 UEFA European Football Championship, which held a place within 2001) and two occasions where no qualification was needed to enter the tournament.

Montenegro and Kosovo became UEFA members in May 2016 (after playing against each other on 14 May 2016 in Podgorica). Still, both teams participated only at the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification as they could not participate in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup due to financial problems.

 As Croatia was already qualified by finishing top of their qualifying group, their spot was given to Iceland.

The national team that has played the most matches without ever qualifying is Ireland with 47. The following five teams are Spain, Finland, Netherlands, Italy and Turkey.

The following eight teams from UEFA medallists have qualified automatically. The remaining 22 teams competed in qualifying matches.

Note: Switzerland qualified for the first time through the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification; they have never qualified for the European Championship finals.

The national team with the most UEFA Euro appearances in Germany with 28 appearances, ahead of France, played their first final in 1984 and Spain, who have played seven times before 2016 (in 2012, 2014 and 2016).